Skip to content

On Time God!

April 20, 2012

As some of you know, I have been on writing leave for the past couple of weeks. It has been a productive and much appreciated time. The book is almost finish!  However, times like these also allow me to reflect and wonder just how much impact is the ministry we are seeking to steward having in people’s lives. Discouragement and doubt are not foreign to the Chrsitian life, and definiely not to pastors. Unrealistic expectations and over-realized assumptions can make for a destructive and debilitating introspection. Yet, no one knows this better than God. He sees the heart and knows that it is sick and needs an injection of the balm of grace. To shake me awake this morning and remind me that He is still sovereign and good, God used an email from a brother from across the country. It was an email full of encouragement and challenge; rebuke and grace.

I want to share a little of this emai.  The guy is  from Texas. I have never met him and only came to know him because he had listened to our podcast and emailed to express his thanks. I only share this because it was such an encouragement right when I needed it. It reminded me of the pride that needs to be killed in my heart every day. It reminded me that God is accomplishing his purposes despite our failings and inconsistencies. It reminded me that God is an on time God…Yes He is!

I pray it will be an encouragement to you as well. The dear brother wrote:

 Tony,

I first learned of Epoint after reading an article of yours in tabletalk magazine (the try before you buy subscription). Once I came  to listen to some of the sermons, I knew at once that the Lord had given me yet another resource to grow and learn. Tony, don’t lose heart man. You are clearly anointed to preach, and I don’t say this to give you the big head, for I’m sure you know how dangerous pride is to the Christian. It is like kryptonite to superman, like poison, like battery acid, like emotional and spiritual plague; pride is, in my opinion, the most powerfully destructive and God hating result, in us, as a result of the fall and sin’s first introduction into the world…. My point? I wish Epoint was here! You are a church that has been called into real purpose and here’s the most important evidence: God has given you the gifts and the abilities to do His work. That is clear, and since it is clear, it is also clear that He has you doing what you are doing. So, don’t lose heart; the Lord has blessed me and mine through Epoint, and so surely you are doing the same in ways you know nothing about. I, as a schoolteacher just had more time than some to write and tell you all about it :)

By the way, enjoy your time off and don’t worry about answering this email. Enjoy your time, and know that you are appreciated brother. We are brothers in Christ! What a concept that is. It’s like you said in your sermon about “Questions for Christians” He’s an on time God (dramatic pause) Yes He is! He will guide us to the place and to the service he would have us do… when? You said it yourself, “In God’s time.”
Bless you and yours, and enjoy your break.
Thank you brother!  But more importantly, thank God for humbling me this morning and taking my mind off of me and placing it once again where it needs to be – on God and the calling of pointing people to Christ. Thank God, for pointing me there this morning.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 2:36 pm

    Hey Pastor T, this is real encouraging, bro! I pray your writing leave results in kingdom impacting, life transforming fruit! Be blessed! 1 Cor 15:58 and Col 1:24

    • ajcarter permalink*
      April 20, 2012 4:33 pm

      Thanks Pastor. Your prayers and encouragements are greatly appreciated. Thanking God for the labors going on at Living Faith.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

