Skip to content

God’s Grace is Greater

March 4, 2011

This past Sunday the hymn “It is well with my soul” was sung at church. I remember as a child, hymns were the only song selection during services. As I grow older I reflect on the richness and gospel-“centeredness” of the words, of some of the hymns. It is well with my soul is one of those hymns.  Written by Horatio Spafford during  what was a very challenging  time in his life:The tragic death of four daughters, he focuses not on the tragedy but on his sinfulness and the redemptive work of Christ.

Verse 3 of the hymn says:

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to His cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

May we be encouraged in times of tragic loss, disappointment and set-backs. As we heard on Sunday during the sermon on Judges 19 that although the depths of our sin is great, God’s grace is even greater. Praise the Lord.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ajcarter permalink*
    March 4, 2011 3:05 am

    Amen and amen! Thanks for this post and reminding us that no matter how dark it is (and Judges 19 is dark), God’s grace is brighter still. No matter how great the sin, God’s grace is greater still. And thus, it is well with my soul. Thanks bro. Keep posting up!

  2. March 4, 2011 4:06 pm

    A very good reminder, Brother Bynoe.

  3. Alexis permalink
    March 11, 2011 11:11 pm

    Thank You, Lord, for Your amazing grace!!!
    Thanks Stephen for sharing!

Leave a Reply

