Skip to content

A Monday Morning Prayer

March 7, 2011
by

Father,

I confess I woke up far from you this morning.  Confirm your presence with me and your love for me by reminding me of your steadfast love as it is revealed in the work of your son.  Let his work testify and wake me this morning to your everlasting grace, that neither slumbers nor wanes with the day.  Your grace is fresher than the morning, newer than the day though secured long ago.  The day didn’t begin outside of your knowledge.  It didn’t begin outside of your sovereignty and control.  My sleep did not dull your senses as it does mine.  You are ever refreshing, a fountain of living waters, springing forth to eternal life, life that begins in Christ and never ends in accordance with the depths of his love and the efficacy of his work.  The power that sustains the world in its revolution around the sun, securing the seasons and their progression, is the same power that causes the rotation of the earth on its axis and the rising of the sun this morning.  It is no more constant that your everlasting love. 

The east where the sun rises will never meet the west where the sun sets.  So to shall my sins never meet me in eternity.  By his death and victorious resurrection, he has placed them in the world of contradiction, on the opposite side of a sphere where they will never harass me, never condemn me, never purge me into endless night. 

Lord, warm my soul with the freshness of your grace.  Quicken my steps towards your will and hasten my lips to your praise.  Let my day reflect the security of your promises.  Let my head never find itself on a pillow that is not made of your eternal truths.  Calm my anxious thoughts as I begin my day and grant me opportunities to calmly, yet passionately reflect the grace that woke me up.  Until the day wanes and night returns again, let me reflect on the cross and its victory, the death of my sins, and the resurrection to life.  Let me reflect how your grace was sufficient for this day as it was for the last, as it will be tomorrow. 

 In Christ I plead for fresh grace…Amen

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Philip permalink*
    March 7, 2011 3:40 pm

    Thanks for reminding us of such wonderful truths this morning!

  2. ajcarter permalink*
    March 7, 2011 7:35 pm

    “The east where the sun rises will never meet the west where the sun sets. So too shall my sins never meet me in eternity. By his death and victorious resurrection, he has placed them in the world of contradiction, on the opposite side of a sphere where they will never harass me, never condemn me, never purge me into endless night.”

    Nice!

  3. Alexis permalink
    March 11, 2011 10:36 pm

    I read this on Monday and again today… So encouraging… Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

