Skip to content

The Father’s Love

March 13, 2011

This past week two of my adult children cause me to pause and reflect on my role as a father. My son was on a college road trip for spring break and calls me an hour and a half before arrival to see if I can feed him and six of his friends as they passed thru town. My daughter had an outpatient procedure done and I was responsible for her care and recuperation since my wife was out of town.  My initial response to both of these requests was one of hesitation since these events were not part of my planned agenda for the week. I could not understand in my son’s case why he could not have called and give me heads up the week before and I wished my daughter could have waited until her mother was in town. I stepped up to the role of “daddy” and served them as they needed.

These events reminded me of  God’s love for His children.  He is never surprised by what we do. We don’t impose on His agenda.  He never hesitates.

He is faithful and merciful:  Psalms 86:15 But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.

He is orchestrating our lives: Jeremiah 29:11 says For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

His love for us is great:   Ephesians 2: 4-5   But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, (5) even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved

How deep the Father’s love for us,
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bj permalink*
    March 13, 2011 11:07 pm

    Amen brother. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. ajcarter permalink*
    March 14, 2011 12:42 pm

    God’s love continues to amaze and shame us! Unlike us, He never hesitates or thinks twice. Thanks bro!

Leave a Reply

