Skip to content

“You can act like a man!”

August 16, 2011

One of my favorite scenes from The Godfather is early on when Don Corleone receives his wimpy, milk-toast nephew, Johnny Fontaine, to hear Fontaine’s plea for help with getting a part in a movie.  The Don is not impressed with Fontaine’s sensibilities and gives one of the classic lines in all the film:

“You can act like a man!”  These words have rung true to me over the years.  Much of what we call counseling for young men, should probably boil down to a swift kick in the pants and an admonition “to act like a man.”  Unfortunately, many of them have not had good and faithful examples of manhood and thus are left to vend for themselves.  Naturally this, more often than not, ends in disaster.  They end up perpetrating manhood, or mimicking worldly masculinity that results in personal pain, and pain to those close to them. Believe me, I know.

Nevertheless, I do believe that when it comes to biblical manhood, the admonition is still, “act like a man.”  When King David was exiting the scene as his time of death drew closer, he said these poignant and yet sobering words to his son Solomon:   “I am about to go the way of all the earth.  Be strong, and show yourself a man” (1Kings 2:2).  In other words, “You must act like a man!”

Admittedly, I did not have much in the way of examples of biblical manhood growing up.  The Lord, however,  has been gracious in putting men into my life who have served as examples of what it means to love God and love others.  They have said to me, by words and example, “You can act like a man!”  I have been challenged and encouraged by it.

Therefore, over the next few days, I want to share a short series of post on what I have learned of biblical manhood.  In particular, I want to share what men of God should do and be so that those whom we love and serve might be the beneficiaries of us “acting like men.”

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 7:32 pm

    Pastor I look forward to reading your posts on the subject. It seems to me that the Church needs men to become men now more than any other time in my lifetime.

    Blessings to you all in East Point!

  2. Louis permalink
    August 17, 2011 5:07 pm

    Brother we just started our series on Biblical Manhood and Womanhood. Your posts will be welcomed reading for me and the men of New Life.

    My, my, my what providence. “He’s an on time God, yes He is”

Trackbacks

  1. Honor Your Parents (“You can act like a man!”) « East Point Church

Leave a Reply

