Skip to content

On Being Reformed

October 8, 2011

I often asked, what type of church is East Point Church.  After I reply with the obvious retort, “Christian”, I soon anticipate the request for a more definitive description.  While I know that no more definitive answer exists, I do understand what they mean.  They want to know in what theological and ecclesiological tradition does EPC stand.  Actually, this is a good question to ask when seeking to understand better any particular fellowship of Christians.

In answering a sincere inquirer I do not shy way from saying that we gladly stand within the Reformed tradition.  And while we are not Presbyterian (though we meet in a Presbyterian building), we do love to articulate our faith in  similar, though different, ways.

Recently I came across a concise and yet well-written document by B.B. Warfield called “A Brief and Untechnical Statement on Reformed Theology.”  While it is not a comprehensive statement on Reformed Theology, it does give the basic parameters of the faith, and what you are likely to hear sung and preached at East Point Church.  In the document Warfield, as a Reformed theologian, confessed,

I believe, that, being fallen in Adam, my first father, I am; by nature a child of wrath, under the condemnation of God and corrupted in body and soul, prone to evil and liable to eternal death; from which dreadful state I cannot be delivered save through the unmerited grace of God my Savior.

I believe that God has not left the world to perish in its sin, but out of the great love wherewith He has loved it, has from all eternity graciously chosen unto Himself a multitude which no man can number, to deliver them out of their sin and misery, and of them to build up again in the world His kingdom of righteousness: in which kingdom I may be assured I have my part, if I hold fast to Christ the Lord.

Amen, Dr. Warfield!  If you are so inclined, you can read the document here.  Or better yet, you can come visit with us and see how we seek to preach and practice the faith we profess.  See ya soon!

Leave a Reply

