Skip to content

A Christmas Story: He Got Wet!

December 20, 2011
Several years ago I went camping with my son and my youngest daughter. We had the most joyous, fulfilling, and exhausting time. We played golf, went swimming, built a campfire and roasted hot dogs and marshmallows on a stick. We pitched a tent and slept out underneath the stars.  As we crawled into our sleeping bags for the night, we thanked God for his multiple blessings we so enjoyed that day and always. One of the blessings I thanked Him for was children and how beautifully and poignantly they bring God’s grace home to me. It was graphically and unforgettably showed to me when we were fishing. Oh yeah, did I mention we went fishing as well.
While we were on the dock fishing, my daughter, who was 5 years old at the time, was perhaps the most excited about the prospect of catching fish. She insisted on doing all of the preparation and casting herself. So, she took the pole and decided to put the line in the water, while I turned my back to tend to my own line. Suddenly I hear a huge splash to my rear and immediately wonder what type of fish could have made such a commotion. What did my son catch? When I turned around, I was amazed, not by what came out of the water, but by what went into the water. My daughter was off the dock and fully submerged. Immediately, my son reached in and grabbed her and pulled her out. With shock on her face and bewilderment in her voice, she looked at me and kept repeating, “I didn’t mean to…I didn’t mean to…I didn’t mean to…” The only thing that kept me from laughing (as I am now that I reflect upon it) was the speed with which this whole incident took place. It was only a matter of seconds. Needless to say, she was in no mood for fishing any longer. She wanted to go back to the campsite. She was wet and embarrassed and did not know what to do about either circumstance. With amazing care and love, my son offered the solution. He looked at his little sister and offered to jump in the water fully clothed so as to identify with her and to alleviate her embarrassment.
Fully clothed, from shoes to shirt, he took the plunge. As soon as he hit the water, her joy returned and mine was made full. Yet, my joy was full, not because my son submerged himself in the water for his sister’s sake (that is enough to make any father proud), but because it reminded me that Christ, the Son of God, submerged himself in sin that He might identify with me (Heb. 4:15). He who knew no sin jumped into this world of sin, that we who knew only sin, might be made the Son-dried righteousness of God (2Cor. 5:21).
My daughter was happy that her brother did that for her. She was not nearly as happy as I am knowing what Christ did for me. Remember this Christmas season, Jesus got wet!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt McCarnan permalink
    December 20, 2011 10:00 pm

    Great picture, Tony–thanks for sharing this! I was encouraged and blessed reading it, particularly to remember that it would not have been sufficient for Jesus to simply reach in and pull us out–He had to become like us in order to atone for us. This is indeed good news!

    • ajcarter permalink*
      December 20, 2011 10:03 pm

      Yes Matt, that is an excellent point. Thanks!

  2. Tremaynne Parham permalink
    December 21, 2011 7:53 pm

    Pastor Tony, I am relatively new to your blog, but have been following the happenings with EPC and your ministry since reading “Experiencing the Truth”. As a church planter in Baltimore, Maryland, I have been blessed by your ministry and your words of encouragement in an email. Thank you for this blog entry and its timely and timeless message. FYI, I may use the illustration in a sermon or two 😉

    GOD Bless you and EPC,

    Tremaynne

    • ajcarter permalink*
      December 21, 2011 9:52 pm

      Thanks Tremaynne. Using the story is cool :). Stay encouraged!

Leave a Reply

