Skip to content

How Great God’s Mercy

July 13, 2012

This coming Sunday (and it’s a coming) we are preaching from Mark 15:16-32.  This passage of scripture ends with a note of sinful yet merciful irony. The chief priests and scribes, believing they have finally nailed their man (literally), they mock Jesus as he suffers and dies on the cross. “Save yourself,” they say. “Come down from the cross,” they mockingly jeer.  With apparent venom and victory they pronounce, “He saved others; he can not save himself.”

One is tempted to revile the revilers, and to mock the mockers. How could they be so ignorant; so blasphemous? Yet, if honesty compels me I would have to admit that my unregenerate and unredeemed mind would have reviled just as loud. I would have joined the mocking crowd. As the songwriter says, I would have heard my mocking voice calling out among the scoffers.  Yes, at the cross sin was great, but mercy was greater. Praise God, Christ ignored the mockers and stayed on that cross.

Did you hear me?  He stayed on the cross. Don’t take that lightly today. Christ did not deserve the cross and we did not deserve him staying on it. Yet, he stayed on that cross because we needed him on that cross. Mercy compelled him to stay. He did not save himself because he came to save us. Even to our sinful, scoffing, and shamelessly rude voices, our God was merciful.

How great God’s mercy Christ came not down from that cross.

How great his mercy in seeing what my sin wrought.

How great his mercy that he looked beyond my faults.

I not seeking his mercy, but me his mercy sought.

How great God’s mercy Christ came not down from that cross.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 14, 2012 1:32 am

    “Thy mercy, my God, is the theme of my song,
    The joy of my heart, and the boast of my tongue!”

Leave a Reply

