Skip to content

Under the Shadow of the Almighty

December 6, 2012

Reflecting upon the lovingkindness and faithfulness of God this morning in watching over and caring for His children.

Many of the Psalms remind us of the intimacy of God’s providential care for his people. And for many of us, nothing is more precious than the comfort of security that comes from knowing our lives are in the hands of a gracious, loving, and all-knowing God. Like a good shepherd, God delights in the care of his sheep. Even in a world where safety and security is an everyday challenge, the child of God can pray:  “Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings” (Ps. 17:8). Indeed, many consider the hymn “A Mighty Fortress is Our God” to be a favorite. Martin Luther wrote it as he reflected upon Psalm 46, which begins: “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”

Indeed, the Psalms abound with references to our security and consolation in God as our refuge and strength (Ps. 4:8; 18:2; 61:3). Yet, perhaps the most memorable and exhaustive is Psalm 91. It is a Psalm without title, but no title is needed. It is filled the assurance of God’s care, even in dire distress. Charles Spurgeon called it, “a heavenly medicine against plague and pest.”

Today is a good day to remember, that those who dwell in God, and God in them, are eternally secure because no harm can come to the soul that dwells in the shelter of the Most High and abides in the shadow of the Almighty.

Psalm 91

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler
and from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with his pinions,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness is a shield and buckler.
You will not fear the terror of the night,
nor the arrow that flies by day,
nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness,
nor the destruction that wastes at noonday.

A thousand may fall at your side,
ten thousand at your right hand,
but it will not come near you.
You will only look with your eyes
and see the recompense of the wicked.

Because you have made the Lord your dwelling place—
the Most High, who is my refuge
10 no evil shall be allowed to befall you,
no plague come near your tent.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways.
12 On their hands they will bear you up,
lest you strike your foot against a stone.
13 You will tread on the lion and the adder;
the young lion and the serpent you will trample underfoot.

14 “Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him;
I will protect him, because he knows my name.
15 When he calls to me, I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble;
I will rescue him and honor him.
16 With long life I will satisfy him
and show him my salvation.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

