Skip to content

“Rebels Rescued”: A Review with Rachel

February 2, 2013

Our oldest daughter is Rachel Marie. She is sixteen and quite a beautiful young lady. Since she has confessed faith in Christ, I have been encouraged by her heart to know the Lord and to serve him. I recently came across a book by Brian Cosby entitled Rebels Rescued: A Student’s Guide to Reformed Theology. As I read it, I thought it would be a good book for our teen Sunday School class. However, to be sure, I asked Rachel to read it and give me her honest opinion (she usually does :)). Here are her answers to a few of my questions:

1.  How did you come to read this book?

I was given this book by my dad. He gave it to me to read so I can give my opinion on whether or not we should go through the book in our Sunday School class.

2.  What is the book about?

The book is about Reformed Theology. It’s a book that was written for teenagers. It is written in the view of a teenager and the world we live in. Basically Reformed Theology, as explained in the book, is the study on the character and work of GOD in the Bible. I understand Reformed Theology to be the study of God and how he works in sinners to bring them to salvation.

3.  What did you learn that was of particular interest to you?

In the book Brian gave a really good example of his favorite game, Monopoly. He said that during one game he landed on Boardwalk, which is the most expensive property on the board. He usually was never able to land on or buy this property, but this time he was able to. He then went to work and started buying houses and more houses and eventually was able to purchase a hotel. Unfortunately his opponents never landed on the property that he had put so much time and money into. His point was that GOD put everything on the line– his only Son, Jesus Christ– so that we would be saved. I like the way he puts it in the book  “Reformed theology teaches that Christ gave up his life to purchase the Boardwalk of faith for those whom he not only knew would land on it but also those whom he chose to land on it.” The fact that Christ died for me is amazing, and truly gets me thinking every time Why would he die for me? To know that God loves me enough to send his only Son to die in my place, for my sins, is true love that I could never get from anyone else but him.

4.  Would you recommend this book to your friends?  If so, why? If not, why not?

I would definitely recommend this to my friends, because it’s an easy read. The chapters are brief and easy to understand. I really like the way he uses everyday happenings to relate to what reformed theology teaches. For example he uses a shopping cart with a bad wheel to relate to your heart by saying  just as a bad wheel on a cart veers off so does your heart veer off. I also particularly like another example he used about how he loves backpacking and how on a trip he got bad blisters on his feet because he didn’t put on dry socks and refused his friends offer to stop and rest their feet. His pride got in the way and cost him the whole trip. His point was that God is resisted until God chooses to overcome the sinner by grace. There are many other examples and are great and easy for a teenager to understand.

5.  After reading this book, are there  any other books you are looking forward to reading next?

I was looking in the back of the book at Brian Cosby’s recommended books and found one by Guy Waters called “A Christian’s Pocket Guide to Justification”. I think this would be a good read for me. I know what justification means, but I want to understand it better.  Reading this would hopefully help me understand more about justification and why it is so important.

Thanks Rae!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2013 1:59 am

    Thank you, Anthony, for posting! I’m looking forward to your new book. – Brian Cosby

    • ajcarter permalink*
      February 22, 2013 4:45 pm

      Thanks Brian. Rebels Rescued is well written and should prove most helpful to the church. Thanks for writing it. God bless.

Leave a Reply

