Skip to content

Pastor Steve Fernandez (1948 – 2013)

April 8, 2013

Yesterday my friend Steve Fernandez was memorialized.  Steve died last week of cancer. He had served as pastor of Community Bible Church in Vallejo, CA for 33 years. Sadly, Christians today are fond of throwing around superlatives. In fact, like many of you, I weary of hearing and reading “best of” list (preachers, books, blogs, conferences, etc). Unfortunately, in the Christian cyber world celebrity and preacher-idolization is all the craze.  Megaconferences continue to create atmospheres where the celebrity is celebrated. Nevertheless men like Steve, who love and lead the local church with passion and without all the fanfare, are a refreshing reminder of what really matters in the kingdom of God

You can have all your famous platform speakers and conference icons, I’ll take men like Steve Fernandez every time.

Of all the men I have had the pleasure of knowing and laboring with in the gospel, none genuinely loved worshipping Christ more than Steve. He may not have had the worship pedigree of some, or what some may call aesthetic rhythm.  But he no doubt had what matters most – a heart filled with love for Christ. Steve, my man, you will be missed.  However, I look forward to seeing you again and raising our hands together in the perfected praise of Christ. I know you are rejoicing today, because no one I know practiced praise for the perfection of praise anymore than you did, my friend. In the following clip (Oct. 21, 2012), Steve addressed the church on “Brain Tumors and Exalting Christ.”  Thank you, my friend, for your example, faith, and courage in Christ our Lord.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mario aguilar permalink
    April 23, 2013 6:43 pm

    I heard of Steve Fernandez and his ministry just a few months before he passed (I met him at the Exalting Christ Conference last year)…I can say without a doubt it was the exaltation of Christ at Steve’s church that God has used to make me look at the cross in a different way.

    Praise God for men like Steve.

    • ajcarter permalink*
      April 23, 2013 7:21 pm

      Amen Mario. Our brother will be missed. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

