Skip to content

Jesus is Enough!

August 12, 2013

Unfortunately, as Christians we are people given to introspection. Some of it is self-imposed. Other times it is imposed upon us by the expectation of others.  This introspection often leaves us questioning if we have done enough. How often have you wondered, “Did I pray long enough? Have I fasted often enough? Is my quiet time deep enough? Am a serving and giving enough?” Whenever you are tempted toward introspection and ask those “enough” questions, you should hear God answering, “No you haven’t done enough. But it’s alright because, Jesus is enough!”

In other words, you should read your bible, but don’t trust in your Bible reading; trust in Jesus!  You should pray, but don’t trust in your prayers trust in Jesus!  You should fast, but don’t trust in your fasting trust in Jesus!  By all means serve and give, but don’t trust in your service or your giving; trust in Jesus.  Whenever your conscience tempts you toward self-centered evaluations or Satan tempts you to despair of your lack of diligence, say to self and Satan, “I got Jesus, and that’s enough!” 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. anointedplace permalink
    August 12, 2013 8:57 pm

    I really appreciate this post, as a minister I always find myself doing what my mentor told me not to do which is comparing. I find myself comparing the platform God has given me against the platforms of others. So the Spirit reminds me to just be faithful with what I have because I’m just the vessel and the Holy Spirit will do the rest. I even find myself struggling with this pull between happiness and joy but you have reminded me the Jesus is enough for all things.

    • August 12, 2013 9:51 pm

      Amen, my friend. Your words are echoed by many of us in the ministry. May God give us grace to keep looking to Christ – no further, no other. Thanks.

Leave a comment