Skip to content

What I’m Reading Now

March 8, 2014

It has been a while since my last installment of what I’m reading now. However, don’t take that as a sign that nothing is being read.  Contraire mon frère!  Weekly sermon preparation requires much reading. And preaching through Acts seems to require more than usual.  Still, besides the books I am reading that are particularly profitable for the weekly expositions, I am also reading other fruitful and even enjoyable books as well.  Consider these:

How the Gospel Brings Us All the Way Home by Derek Thomas.  This book (currently free on Kindle by the way :)) is essentially a series of sermons on Romans 8 preached by Derek Thomas at the First Presbyterian Church of Jackson, MS.  And though at times it reads a little choppy (as sermons turned into books can at times), don’t let that distract you.  This book is filled with soul-boosting truth.  Romans 8 has been called by many, their favorite chapter in the Bible.  Thomas treats it with the respect it deserves and reminds us why so many us find comfort in the words found there in.

 The Pecan Man by Cassie Dandridge Selleck.  Though I am not a big fiction fan, this book recently caught my eye. My wife received a Kindle Fire for her birthday. We looked around for a good entertaining book to break in her new device. The Pecan Man was recommended as To Kill a Mockingbird meets The Help. We enjoyed both of those books so why not give The Pecan Man a try.  Good idea. Good read. Good story. It is not often I am reading the same book my wife is reading.  It is great to be able to converse about an interesting, mutually enjoyable read.

Counterfeit Gods by Tim Keller.  This is actually a re-read.  Currently we are reading Counterfeit Gods in our Home Fellowship Groups at East Point Church. Personally, I enjoy Keller’s writing.  Even when I disagree with him, I yet find him insightful, engaging, readable, and provocative.  Counterfeit Gods is my favorite of Keller’s many books I have read.  Perhaps it is because idols are more prevalent in our lives and the church than we are willing to admit. A careful reading of Keller makes this painfully, and yet Christ-exaltingly true.

A Praying Life by Paul Miller.  This was recommended to me by one of the sisters in our church.  I had heard of this book previously. However, I have read my share of books on prayer, so I was not particular about reading another. After all, what more could be said, right?  However, her enthusiasm for the book struck me as at least garnering a look. Also if we are honest, few, if any of us pray as we ought and therefore perhaps Miller’s book would spur me on once again to pursue more diligently this neglected and most precious of graces.

By the way, just received my brother Thabiti’s new book Captivated.  Looking to begin that one as soon as I finish The Pecan Man.  Gotta hurry up. Can’t let my wife finish before me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

