Skip to content

Amish on Hugging

May 31, 2011

On the nightstand is where I generally keep a book that I am taking my time to read through.  If you have looked at our “What We’re Reading” page, you will see that for quite some time now I have been making my way through “The Amish Way: Patient Faith in a Perilous World.”  I have always been fascinated by the Amish. Though I have no desire to live the Amish life, the idea of simple living has always intrigued me.  Because of there simple, rudiment, and even austere approach to life, many have assumed that Amish people are not very passionate, emotional, or even affectionate.  The Amish can give the impression at times that life and worship is more about duty than delight.  However, talk to most Amish and they would disagree.  In fact, here is a humorous, tongue-in-cheek, quote from an Amish couple that should remind us all of the importance, impact, and ease of hugging.

Hugging is healthy. It helps the body’s immune system. It cures depression. It reduces stress. It’s invigorating. It’s rejuvenating. It has no unpleasant side effects.

Hugging is all natural, organic, naturally sweet, and is 100% wholesome. It contains no pesticides, no preservatives, and no artificial ingredients.

There are no movable parts, no batteries to wear out, no periodic checkups, no insurance requirements, and no monthly payments. It is inflation-proof, non-fattening, theft-proof, non-taxable, non-polluting, and is, of course, fully returnable.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 11, 2014 10:29 am

    It is in reality a nice and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a comment